Poetry in the Brew for September 8, 2012

Hello Friends,

Come out on the second Saturday of the month at Portland Brew East 1921 Eastland Avenue, Nashville, TN for another night of words.  We are encouraging folks to come early for sign-up and visit with other lovers of spoken word. We start promptly at 6:30, sign-up at 5:30. We finish up by 8:30.

If you need inspiration to write, try our theme:  DANGER!

Poetry in the Brew is pleased and honored to announce an icon, The Queen of Nashville Poetry, Navita Gunter as the special guest host for September 8, 2012.

September, 2012  Special Guest Host

Navita Gunter

WILL YOU STILL WANT ME?

When the lights come on

And the make-up comes off

Will you still want me?

When you discover that my

Feet are large and I have

Hammer toes.

Will you still want me?

When my waist line starts

To expand

And my hair starts to

Turn gray

Will you still want me?

When I have loss my bloom

Of youth

And my wrinkle’s start to

Show.

Will you still want me?

When my HEALTH is

Less thank perfect

And my memory

Starts to fade

Will you still want me?

BAM!

Something just hit the door running

I guess I have my answer…..

Navita “Queen of Nashville Poetry”

“Healing the Woman from the Inside Out”

Nashville is a city of community leaders in action. Most of those leaders are women on divinely inspired missions. They are determined to fight for causes that impact not only our city and region but our country. One of those leaders is Navita Gunter. Ms. Gunter has been a warrior on the battle field in the fight against cancer in the Nashville community. She educates women to take charge of their health and to be strong advocates for cancer awareness. Ms. Gunter uses her personal battle with cancer as a catalyst for her mission to educate women to be survivors by early detection.

Ms. Gunter is a cervical cancer survivor. She currently works PT/FT for the department of Revenue with the state of Tennessee. She is the founder of the Cervical Cancer Coalition of Tennessee and was first to give a “voice” to this very devastating disease that even to today no woman wants to talk about freely. Navita is also a poet and writer and has used these tools to educated and increase awareness to women, especially African American women in the community about HPV and cervical cancer which in turn reduce cancer incidence and mortality.

The Queen of Nashville Poetry

Navita Gunter

Leave a Reply

