Poetry in the Brew on February 9, 2013

Poetry in the Brew

February  9, 2013

 

This month Poetry in the Brew features Susan Hudson McBride!  We hope Susan reads from her newest book, Boogers Day Out,  a tale of sneezes, wheezes, and runny noses. Hear how a young boy and his mom outwit the King of Boogers and his slimy, crusty pals.

As far back as her early childhood years Susan Hudson McBride made up stories as a means of entertainment and, occasionally, to get out of a scrape. It almost always involved some manner of silliness. She believes it is genetic as her now grown children are prone to the same whackery. They were, in part, the inspiration for this boogery story. She lives, writes, and is silly on a daily basis in Nashville, TN.

Susan writes this about her work:  Storytelling has always been a natural part of my life. Family, my father’s side in particular, was an embarrassment and I needed a way to fix all that. A deeper truth was that my childhood was damn near insufferable. We were an alcohol, drug, food, and God addicted bunch. My one preoccupation as a kid was to rewrite my entire life so it resembled something pretty. In the end the things that haunted me most kept surfacing.

A dozen or so years work in death penalty cases resulted in stories that uncovered a lot of secrets and heartache. My clients would say, “You know more about my family than I do.” And it’d be true. Yet my life was as haunted as theirs. They found healing in coming to know and accept their stories. Eventually, so did I.

To discover who I was I had to find my voice. Go back to the place of my origins. Get into the dirt. I went to Alabama and walked out to a cotton field near where I grew up and filled a Mason jar full of the red soil. When I got home I placed the jar on my writing desk next to a favorite lamp. Two days later I finished three pieces that had been languishing in a file. Dirt, that familiar dirt, cast a sort of spell over me and my voice found itself again.

My mentors come from a long line of tale weavers; folks like Minton Sparks, Rita Dove, Flannery O’Connor, Edgar Lee Masters, brave Afghan women, James C. Floyd, a whole family of prevaricators (especially including my cousin, Teresa), and liars in AA.

 

February Guest Host  Butterfly!

 

Signup at 5:30

Reading starts at 6:30

 

Theme (if you need inspiration to write) Self-Esteem

 

Portland Brew East

1910 Eastland Avenue

Nashville, TN

 

Leave a Reply

