August 9, 2014 POETRY IN THE BREW

Portland Brew East
1921 Eastland Avenue
Nashville, TN 37206

Sign-up at 5:30
Reading starts at 6:00

This month, Poetry in the Brew welcomes feature and Nashville poetry veteran Vol Lindsey to the loft stage. Leeah Vickers,  a regular voice in the new generation of Nashville poets, will guest host.

August Feature Vol Lindsey

Vol LindseyI’m a Tennessee Texan, an old one, and (disregarding quantum physics) getting older all the time. I work with words, leather, I carve wood and I‘m a retired teacher. Actually, I am genetically programmed to be a teacher, so I’ve spent most of my life trying to explain things, but I’m not very good at it. I think this is because I can’t think as slow as most folks; I read recently that if you are of average intelligence, half the people you meet in your life will be dumber than you, and, if you are above average, it’s even worse. See, I got ruined at W. J. Woodham High School in Pensacola, where my entire class was invited to attend if we wanted to receive a more intellectually rigorous education. They were serious, and we were all nerds, but we didn’t stand out, because we were all nerds. Hell, for fun we would audit comparative religions and philosophy classes at the local junior college, then go across the street to Tony’s Pizza and talk about it till midnight. After our Diaspora, my ruination is that my whole life has been a disappointing search for people who could measure up to that early experience. Don’t get me wrong, there have been a few bright stars, many of them the poets here in Nashville, but it isn’t the same without the Rock and Roll, and the turmoil of the late nineteen sixties. On the other hand, there have been a lot more folks who were black holes of stupidity, and who did their best to suck me dry. These days, most of my time is spent making leather journal covers, vests and bags, writing, working around my Middle Tennessee home, riding my motorcycle, or apologizing to the guys in the UFO out back for the way the human race behaves.

August Guest Host Leeah Vickers

Leeah VickersPoet, storyteller, and author, Leeah Vickers, paints tapestries with words. Inspirational stories and perceptions from life’s ever winding journey. Leeah’s book Free to Fly (available at Eastside Story, Amazon, and at her performances ) is a peek into the soul of a free spirit spreading her wings and embracing the world around her. Love, hope, and freedom is a constant message at the heart of this collection. Leeah is a prominent voice that desires for others to find their own and celebrate it.

One thought on “August 9, 2014 POETRY IN THE BREW

  1. Looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

