DECEMBER 13, 2014 POETRY IN THE BREW

Nashville’s Second Saturday Open Mic Poetry Reading

Located at

Portland Brew East
1921 Eastland Avenue
Nashville, TN 37206

Sign-up at 5:30
Reading starts at 6:00

This month, Poetry in the Brew welcomes to the spotlight two luminaries of Nashville poetry: feature Valerie Ford and guest host Georgia Caldwell.

December Feature Valerie Ford

ValerieFordValerie Ford is an underground artist who writes poetry in her spare time. She lives in Franklin, TN, with her beautiful daughter Willow. Much of her work reflects on broken relationships. She uses poetry and art to heal her sadness and channel her fury.

Her high school English teacher was poet Vol Lindsey, and if not for him she may never have discovered Poetry in the Brew. Vol believed in her poetry when she was a quiet girl sitting in the back of his class. He saw her when no one else did.

Valerie is inspired by D.H. Lawrence and the sensuality in his poetry. She creates beauty and finds a voice through her writing. She is in love with literature, and draws you into this love through her words.

December Guest Host Georgia Caldwell

bio picMy name is Georgia Caldwell, born and raised in a small Minnesota town up until the age of 15. When I was young I aspired to be a cartoonist, did some writing, and drowned myself in music. I have four children and a lifetime it seems of laughs and pains. I am a fulltime alcohol and drug counselor. I believe in overcoming with all that is in me. I am rebellious by nature. My filter tends to never work quite right, and I have a confusing relationship with the human race.

It was either my first “date” or one soon after, in January/February of 2014, I was telling my friend I “used to write and used to create art.” He said with surety, “We are going to change that to ‘you do write and you do create art.'” So I started writing and it has just been like something pierced the most inward part of me and these writings are what have come out…Here I am over 100 writings later. It has been one of the most amazing experiences. I just hope it never stops, and I hope the transparency in my writings will help others find some healing like it has me.

Leave a Reply

