OCTOBER 8, 2016 POETRY IN THE BREW

Nashville’s Second Saturday Open Mic Poetry Reading

Located at

Portland Brew East
1921 Eastland Avenue
Nashville, TN 37206

Sign-up at 5:30
Reading starts at 6:00

October brings a feature set from Map… Guest host is Chance Chambers. Both are well respected and widely appreciated local poets who worked together to help create Poetry in the Brew for us.

October Feature Map…

img_4077“Map…” Michael Alan Pierce is free. The founder of Poetry in the Brew, Map… is a poet, author, and beloved figure in the community. His feature performance comes a few months after Map… celebrated five years with Poetry in the Brew, which is the longest-running spoken word open mic currently held in Nashville. Map…’s work has appeared in numerous publications, including his noted books Praying Poems and Surrender. A teacher and mentor to all who ask it of him, Map… learned the value of both language and community while in prison. He recently completed an 11-year stretch on parole. Map… is free.

Here is a preview of Map…’s poetry:

The Window

As time progressed,
I was accepting the fact,
I was a prisoner.

I was even accepting the fact
I wasn’t receiving letters
and that others
refused to accept my calls.
I realized in order for me to make it,
I had to let them go.

What I found hard to accept
was the window in my cell,
for it clearly showed
my trailer
and my car –
all that I lost.

My car looked all ready to roll,
just needed me to drive.
The crazy times I had in that car
flashed
before my eyes

I looked at that trailer
and realized
that was mine,
all mine.
I bought and paid
every penny for it.
Now it’s a lost item
I once had.

You can’t take it with you
when you pass,
but it sure would have been nice to have it
as you live.
Like a thief in the night
cocaine robbed my possessions
that I had.
Left me a prisoner
on the other side
of this window.

I felt fortunate
to be breathing.
Others died
in their addictions.
Price I paid
for being sick
I was not alone
even though
life outside that window
let me go.

October Guest Host Chance Chambers

14438812_10209090134184165_826710132_oChance Chambers is a Nashville, Tennessee poetry and fiction writer whose work has appeared in the anthologies MuscadineLines: A Southern Anthology and Gathering: Writers of Williamson County. He has also been a quarter-finalist in Francis Ford Coppola’s Zoetrope: All-Story & New Century Writers Short Story Competition and a finalist in Glimmer Train’s Poetry Open. In 2015, Metro Arts of Nashville commissioned Chance, along with six other writers/artists, to create a piece inspired by a local public artwork as part of a grant funded by the Bonnaroo Works Fund and The Community Foundation of Middle Tennessee. That poem, “White Noise, Black Sky,” can be heard—along with the pieces by the other commissioned artists—at Metro Arts’ Explore Nashville Art website. Originally from Paris, Tennessee, Chance has lived in Nashville since 1985. His online home is Drunken Poem Bodega at chancechambers.com.

One thought on “OCTOBER 8, 2016 POETRY IN THE BREW

  1. P.W. Lea says:

    I can’t wait

Leave a Reply

