DEC. 12, 2020 FEATURE: NAVITA GUNTER

Jesus Tears

I witness Jesus tears last night.
Tears for all his creation
Tears for His beautiful World
Tears for a World that
has loss its way.
Tears for love and compassion that seemed to have left the
Planet
Tears for Mankind being inhuman to Mankind.
Tears for children in cages.
Tears for innocence forever LOST

“Hello my name is Navita and I am a 20+ year cervical cancer survivor. I founded the first ever Tennessee cervical cancer coalition along with some amazing women such as Dr. Elizabeth Williams—then director of community outreach at the TSU Avon William’s campus in Nashville—and Dr. Dineo Khabele, head OBGYN at Meharry Medical college. I participated in several cervical cancer events where they would bring me in to speak on how you can survive this illness, as a lot of women of color did not. I received several awards, the most recent one being outstanding community leader from MTSU awards luncheon back in 2017.

I am also a poet and published author with my book called The Day My Vagina Tried to Kill Me, which concerned my journey with surviving cervical cancer. I have been in numerous newspapers such as The Nashville Scene, The Banner, and the Pride. I have gone on several radio stations such as 92Q, Fisk Radio, and WVOL. I also was asked by the Lance Armstrong people to add my voice to their cancer project and I helped the State of Tennessee health department plan and implement a statewide poster program on cervical cancer. I also had my own radio show as well as a community access TV program called V.I.T.A. Some of my shows can still be seen on YouTube.”

Navita will open the reading with a feature set of her poetry this Sat. Dec. 12. She is the Queen of Nashville Poetry and not to be missed! Tomorrow, we spotlight feature Gary Huskisson hailing from Peterborough, UK.

Do you look forward to Saturday? Do you long for something to carry through your week? Would you like a poem written just for you?

Did you know we have a Brew Mug and Custom Snap Poem deal going on this month? We only ordered 72 of these hefty 16 oz. beauties and when they’re gone, they’re gone!

$15 +shipping or use discount code LOCALPICKUP for contact-free pickup in the Nashville area.

Leave a comment